Types Of Motor Responses And their Scores On The Glasgow Coma Scale

Glasgow Coma Scale

Every medical student should be aware of the following seven kinds of sutures.

         4 ways to provide injectables through the parenteral route
        10 locations to feel for arterial pulses
      6 keys to understanding the ECG

Farreras|Rozman is the source of the infographic. ClinicalKey Student, an interactive training platform for Medicine professors and students, has published this study. More information is available at


The Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) is a neurological application scale for determining a person’s degree of consciousness. A traumatic brain injury patient’s neurological evaluation should be basic, objective, and quick. The most crucial aspect to consider is the appraisal of one’s degree of awareness. Stuporous, sleepy, unconscious, or comatose are ambiguous phrases that should be avoided since they are subjective and do not enable us to be assured about the patient’s clinical progress. As a result, the GCS has gained widespread acceptance.

The Glasgow Coma Scale includes three parameters: verbal response, visual reaction, and motor response, all of which have been shown to be highly repeatable in their interpretation by multiple observers. The lowest score is three points, and the maximum is fifteen. It must be divided down into sections, with the best response receiving the highest score. The administration of this scale at regular intervals allows for the creation of a clinical profile of the patient’s progress.

We may categorize the degree of severity of the trauma once we’ve completed the neurological evaluation. The specialist will be able to provide an initial prognosis and, more critically, identify the following diagnostic and treatment stages from here.

A brief history

Graham Teasdale and Bryan Jennett of the University of Glasgow’s Institute of Neurological Sciences developed the Glasgow scale in 1974. Its goal was to develop a simple and reliable approach for capturing and monitoring the degree of awareness in traumatic brain injury patients. Jennett and Teasdale gave a numerical value to eye opening, as well as the patient’s muscular and vocal responses, three years later, resulting in the current scale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.